top of page

Reichman University Awards 2024 Honorary Doctorates

On June 6th, 2024 Reichman University awarded Honorary Doctorate degrees to individuals who have stood out for their contributions to the state of Israel and its citizens, since October 7. The degrees were awarded at a special Heroism and Revival event at Reichman University to the following-

1. Captain Karni Gez – Commander of the first female tank company in the IDF, who made history alongside the soldiers under her command when they became the first female combat soldiers to engage in armored combat. Together with her company, Gez saved many lives of those on kibbutzim in the south on October 7.

2. Haim Jelin – Former head of the Eshkol Regional Council, who has demonstrated a decades-long dedication to the communities of the Gaza Envelope. Since the events of October 7, he has been serving as a representative of the residents of these communities who are displaced from their homes, and who aspire to return to their kibbutzim in absolute safety.

3. Eyal Naveh – One of the founders of the "Brothers and Sisters in Arms" movement, which established the country's largest civilian emergency headquarters on October 7. The center has worked diligently to help meet the needs of the IDF, the evacuees from the south and north, and supporting the families of the hostages and missing persons.

4. Brigadier General Israel Shomer, commander of Division 146, the explosive formation stationed on the northern border, for many years of work for the security and strength of the State of Israel, and for fighting as a resident of Kfar Aza on the morning of October 7 with courage and resourcefulness to protect the residents of his kibbutz.

5. Noa Tishby – Two-time New York Times best-selling author, producer, and long-standing advocate for Israel and the Jewish people, who especially since the events of October 7, has emerged as a prominent force countering the efforts to delegitimize the State of Israel and combatting rising global Antisemitism.

The Honorary Doctorate degrees were awarded by Prof. Uriel Reichman, Founding President and Chairman of the Board, Prof. Boaz Ganor, President and Mr. Oudi Recanati, Chancellor, who said "An Honorary Doctorate Degree is awarded to individuals whose work reflects values of Zionism, entrepreneurship, social responsibility, academia, philanthropy and business success".


bottom of page